Author Archives: Raizen

Boston Police thwart shooting plot at Pokemon World Championships

A plot to have a massacre at the 12th Pokemon World Championships has just been foiled. A link to the news story is here.

I’m happy that the Boston Police stopped these guys. While it’s easy to get cynical and think that police like to let power go to their heads, they do make communities much safer. I hate to think what might have happened if the would-be gunmen weren’t stopped.

As for the two would-be gunmen, they were competitors who had received invitations to worlds. One of them posted a picture of a hunting rifle on Facebook and said that they were “ready for Worlds”. The other joked about “killing the competition”.

One might think that it was just a joke between the two. If that were the case, it’s a vintage bad joke.

The two would-be gunmen might not have been bad at playing Pokemon (they did receive Worlds invitations), but they evidently didn’t understand the public nature of social media. The two attempted to gain entry into Worlds, but for a possibly unrelated reason, they were turned away and were slapped with “No Trespass” orders. The convention center security contacted the Boston Police Department, who were aware of their Facebook exchange, and they detained the two.

Bravo, Boston Police Department!

As it turns out, the two weren’t joking in their Facebook exchange. Boston Police found firearms in the two’s vehicle, and the two were arrested.

When you think about Pokemon, what do you think about? Maybe you think about cute, colorful hug-em-squeeze-ems that can breath fire and expel electricity. Maybe you think about dragons and whales wrestling for sport. You probably wouldn’t associate Pokemon with some guys who flip out and decide to kill a bunch of kids. As it turns out, there are some pretty messed-up people out there.

Pokemon is a game about friendship and adventure. In the Pokemon fanbase, there is a sense of energy and enthusiasm that makes it different from other game communities that I’ve seen. Pokemon players are less likely to become intellectual tyrants and instead encourage players that seem to be struggling. Because of this, it’s surprising that someone who plays Pokemon would seriously consider carrying out a mass murder. But, again, there are some messed-up people out there.

While it’s surprising enough that such a person existed in the Pokemon community, it’s more jarring still that two such people met one another and encouraged one another to carry out their sick murder fantasy. In the years that I’ve played Pokemon, I have never seen anything close to the kind of attitude that the two would-be gunmen exhibited.

However, there is a bright side to this. The Pokemon community, as well as the community at large, is much safer thanks to the efforts of the Boston Police.

As for the two failed terrorists, they’re probably finding out that Pokemon isn’t very popular in prison. One of the big games in prison is Poker. Not that they’ll be the ones playing; guys like them are typically used as bets.

I know that there are people out there who would use this incident to attempt to further their political agenda, saying things like “this is why guns should be banned”. No, it isn’t. This is why spanking a misbehaving child is a good idea. Doing stupid things like counting to five or ten only encourages your children to act up, because you’re establishing a limit that is very easy to push, and demonstrates to them that you’re too lazy to administer an actual punishment. Children have a hard time understanding an explanation as to why acting out is wrong, but they do understand when something hurts. Use that to discourage negative behavior, and in time, they’ll figure out the relationship between bad behavior and bad results. Besides, if you spank your child, you won’t kill them.

And if you spank your child, you’ll be far less likely to suffer the shame and disgrace of being the parent of some deviant that fired a gun at some kids playing games. Preventative measures are better than long-term regrets.

As for those who are worried about the safety of the Pokemon community, it’s much safer now that two would-be killers are locked up. The news may be jarring, but you can continue enjoying Pokemon.

UPDATE: I have made a separate entry with additional thoughts on this matter. It might be that the two men weren’t conspiring to carry out a mass shooting, after all.

Planned Parenthood might sue. Could this backfire?

Let’s start this off by sharing a video that Planned Parenthood and the American political left does not want you to see. The following is the latest upload by the Center for Medical Progress:

The latest video is the most incriminating yet. In it, a former member of Planned Parenthood explains how babies were extracted alive then had their organs harvested, including a brain which was obtained from the living infant by slicing it’s face open.

Pretty disturbing stuff, right? And yes, it’s illegal. If the infant is extracted alive, killing it is a homicide.

So then, what does Planned Parenthood have to say about this? They’re thinking of suing.

Picard-Facepalm

Planned Parenthood is considering legal action against the Center for Medical Progress, the group that exposed their baby-part-selling operations.

Yes, Planned Parenthood, who themselves have been selling baby parts in violation of Federal law, which is a felony, no less, is considering taking legal action against the group that exposed them for doing so, saying that it was illegal to spy on them in such a manner. In the United States of America, whose government has spied on it’s citizens.

This isn’t Bizarro World here. People who have been committing Federal felonies for years are considering suing the people who exposed them. Again, in America.

Planned Parenthood is considering this course of action, as opposed to not bringing much attention to themselves, because if they did, they might end up jailed for the crimes that there is video evidence of them having committed. I can imagine that ending up in Federal prison might ruin their day, as it probably would for most people. Considering this, wouldn’t they want to keep a low profile, to avoid bringing attention to themselves?

Republicans have been calling for defunding Planned Parenthood. Is that it? While it’s true that Planned Parenthood should be defunded (they should not have been receiving Federal funding to begin with), this shouldn’t stop there. Leadership of Planned Parenthood should be arrested. They broke the law. Why aren’t they being arrested?

The Executive Vice President of Planned Parenthood, Dawn Laguens, demanded that the Center for Medical Progress submit “all of the videos and the source footage unedited, and they would hand it to Congress and law enforcement” as opposed to “splice it together in all sorts of crazy ways in order to tell a political story.”

Here’s the thing: if Dawn Laguens wants the full, unedited versions of these videos so badly, she can get them the same way everyone else has been getting them: by going to the Center for Medical Progress’ YouTube channel. They have been posting unedited versions of their videos in their entirety.

Didn’t she know that they were up there? Yes, there are edited versions about ten minutes long that get to the point. There are also corresponding FULL FOOTAGE videos, which happen to be far more incriminating than the edited versions. There goes the argument that CMP has only been uploading the most scandalous and heavily-butchered parts without sharing the rest of the conversations.

Also, I’m for Congress and law enforcement seeing these videos. I wouldn’t mind if every member of Congress saw these videos. However, I get the impression that Dawn Laguens doesn’t know how YouTube or the internet works. Turning these videos in to Congress doesn’t remove them from the internet. They’d still be on YouTube’s servers, probably on multiple servers to accommodate the high volume of traffic that these videos are getting. It’s likely that many people, anticipating efforts to silence the CMP, have downloaded the videos for themselves and might host them on their own web space or share them with a peer-to-peer service such as μTorrent. Once a file is on the internet, the expectation is that it will be copied many times and be around for a very long time, especially when the material gets significant media attention.

Another thing I find odd is that Planned Parenthood really seems to think that the American public is siding with them on this matter. That’s not the case. One thing that the comment sections of these videos show is that the people who have seen them are pissed. Big time. And as more people see these videos, there will be more people who will want to see Planned Parenthood’s leadership incarcerated, and the organization’s doors shut permanently.

Because of that, one would think that Planned Parenthood wouldn’t want to bring much attention to themselves right now.

iPhone 6s: Will it bend?

The following is a video from the YouTube channel, Unbox Therapy:

Unbox Therapy has received a shell like the one to be used for the iPhone 6s, Apple’s next generation iPhone, to be revealed next month. It would seem like Apple listened to the consumer backlash which they received after the release of the iPhone 6, after it was found that those phones bend a little too easily.

Last year, Unbox Therapy uploaded a video showing the host bending an iPhone 6 Plus with just his hands, and it gave with just a little bit of force. Afterwards, the host tried to bend the phone back, and the screen actually started to come off the device. Considering that the iPhone would set a person back over $600, I think that might be a problem.

That puts Apple and their engineers in quite a dilemma. Either they were incompetent and didn’t sufficiently design or test the iPhone 6, or they knew that they had manufactured a faulty product and they put it on the market anyway because they knew that people were going to buy it. Which is it? In either case, Apple doesn’t look very good.

It seems like they’re doing something about it this time. The case for the 6s looks like it will still be made of aluminum (which is probably Apple’s favorite metal), but at least the case is going to be thicker at some points to make it more durable. I know that if I spent over $600 on a smart phone, I’d want it to last at least two years.

In terms of value for dollar, the iPhone is probably Apple’s best device. Besides that, Apple doesn’t offer much in the way of value. This is particularly true for their MacBook line. MacBooks are not the finest computers out there. In terms of technical specs, MacBooks are behind the times by several years. When a person buys a MacBook, they’re buying the same components that make up a PC. There’s the same storage drive as what’s used by PCs, and the same CPUs that are made by Intel, even if they’re dated. And Apple still has the nerve to charge over $1000 for these things. A person could buy a new laptop as technically capable as a MacBook for about half as much.

So, when a person buys a MacBook, what are they spending so much money on? To be able to use Mac OS. And in the case of the newest Macbook, a single USB type C port, so you can brag about being one of the first to adopt the new USB standard.

I like USB type C, but having that being the only port on the device? And there’s only one? If MSI wasn’t also an early adopter of USB type C, there’d probably be far fewer people taking it seriously. Also, the USB type C port is how the system charges. Which is a cool feature of USB type C. However, because the MacBook has only one USB type C port, it can’t charge and have another USB device connected to it at the same time. So, those who like to use their computer to charge their phones might want to find a better solution than the new MacBook. Like plugging it into the wall. That’s been a thing for a while.

I compared the prices and technical specs of several PCs using Google shopping search, comparing them to the new MacBook. This is what I found:

macbook specs

The new MacBook, with it’s admittedly adequate (for now) 256 GB solid state drive, 8 GB of ram, and dinky 1.1 GHz CPU would set a person back $1,279.00. Think that’s a bargain? Read on.

dell inspiron specs

I searched for laptops with comparable specs. Among what I found was this Dell Inspiron i15RV. It also sports a 256 GB solid state drive and a 1.4 GHz CPU. It would only set a person back $589.00. One might point out that it only has 4GB of ram, but an upgrade to 8GB would only set a person back about $60 and would be very easy for just about anyone to install.

To hammer the point home, I searched for laptops within $100 of the price listed for the new MacBook, and what I found is a laptop that can beat up the MacBook:

acer aspire specs

If you’re going to spend over a thousand dollars on a laptop, why not spend it well? This Acer Aspire V Nitro achieves 1.3 TB of storage with a solid state drive and a hard disk drive, has 16 GB of RAM, and has a 2.6 GHz CPU, more than twice as fast as the MacBook’s.

By the way, for those thinking of pointing this out: Yes, I know that there’s more to a processor than it’s clock speed. Still, it’s a valid question as to why Apple prefers processors with lower clock speeds in their computers.

I started on iPhones, and drifted to MacBooks. That might seem like drifting off topic, but it does help to be realistic when it comes to the quality of tech. Especially when it comes to Apple, who is famous for offering products that have an MSRP that is disproportionately greater than the cost of the components that went into it. I don’t hate Apple, and I think iPhone is one of the better smart phones on the market. However, not every Apple product is a great deal, and even when it comes to iPhone, it helps to do some research before going out and making a purchase.

UPDATE (8/19/2015): Unbox Therapy has uploaded a new video testing the iPhone 6s shell that they received. Here it is:

It would seem like Apple has taken the “bendgate” matter seriously, and has made a shell that is much harder to bend. So confident they were in their new shell, that they sent one to the man who bent their iPhone 6 with his bare hands, bringing much attention to it’s durability. Predictably, he put the new shell to the test. That won’t be the only thing to consider about the next iPhone, but this is still a pretty cool development.

Free bleeding: The new thing in feminist insanity (grossness warning)

41RyxGvfQEL

Feminists have been hard at work to appear as immature as possible, and some of them have found an irresponsible new way of doing so, and it’s called “free bleeding”.

If you’re afraid that that means that feminists are now experiencing their periods without the use of tampons and pads, I have bad news for you: that’s just what it is.

This became a thing just after Kiran Gandhi ran the London Marathon without using a tampon. She was going through her period, and she reasoned that it would be far more comfortable to run the marathon without a feminine hygiene product, though she also said (likely as a pretext) that she did it to raise awareness of women that don’t have access to feminine hygiene products.

So, she bled a gross black mark right into the pants she was wearing. And feminists enjoyed it, adopting free bleeding in an effort to overcome oppression and erase the stigma associated with menstruation.

What oppression would that be? If it’s oppression to use a maxi pad, would it also be oppression to shower and brush one’s own teeth?

Believe it or not, there’s no stigma associated with menstruation, and it’s not oppression when there’s an expectation that someone exercise hygienic practices associated with it. Menstruation is a natural part of a woman’s life. It’s not unfair in any way that women experience such a thing, nor is the expectation that she manages it in a safe and hygienic manner. Not managing one’s period safely creates a biological hazard, and it leaves people with an impression that the person is irresponsible. And psychotic. If menstruation is gross, it’s gross because it’s not being properly handled.

If a person doesn’t have maxi pads or tampons, does that really mean that they have no solution to managing their period? Maxi pads and tampons are relatively recent inventions. Women have been finding numerous solutions throughout history. Why have they been doing this? Probably because they want to avoid ruining their socks, shoes, and other clothing, and maybe also because there would be something unpleasant with having one’s genitals be bloody and infected.

I know that there are people out there that would prefer for men and women to be the same. They’re not getting what they want because there will always be physiological differences between men and women, and therefore differences in medical treatment and routine maintenance regarding these differences. You play the cards you’re dealt. Before someone mentions it, I’ll point out that going transgender can only take a person so far. The most science can do to change a person’s gender is butcher their body to get them to closely resemble a member of the opposite gender. If you’re a man who thinks he’s a woman or vice versa, you have a psychosis. If you don’t like what I just said, you don’t like facts.

There are times when what you’re saying is so obvious, you kind of feel like you’re being condescending. It would be a matter so self-evident, that it’s tiring just to think about arguing about it at length to someone who just doesn’t want to accept it. It’s particularly the case when it comes to arguing with liberal fringe groups such as feminists and vegetarians. If they were to come out of their immature worldviews, they’d have so much to gain, such as no longer being wrong about something and experiencing the benefits of putting something that works into practice. But they don’t want to. They’re so determined to be so wrong.

Feminists in particular strive to be offensive. It’s the reason why many of them unashamedly accuse men in general of crimes for which individual men have no guilt. Their hypocrisy is so obvious, accusing men of being sexist when they themselves practice it. But they don’t care. Feminists are out to be grating and offensive. This new thing involving free bleeding is just another step down into the pit of insanity.

There’s no defending Planned Parenthood anymore.

I had just watched some of the videos recently posted on the YouTube channel The Center for Medical Progress, and I’m floored. The videos in question expose operations by Planned Parenthood to sell aborted fetal tissue.

If you’re wondering, selling fetal tissue is highly illegal. It’s a federal felony.

You can watch the videos if you want. But if you do, you’ll probably be shocked and disgusted. These videos show a side to humanity that might change the way you look at people. The following embedded video is the first uploaded to that channel, so it’s works well as a place to start:

In the past, the issue of abortion has been a topic that’s been very politicized, to the point that if a person stated their stance on the issue, then you could figure out their political affiliation pretty quick. Planned Parenthood became the most famous offerer of abortions in the United States, so they became like a face for a controversial topic.

However you stand when it comes to abortion, you really should not be defending Planned Parenthood when it comes to this. This is the kind of thing you should want to distance yourself from, and fast. What Planned Parenthood has done is not just illegal, it’s morally repugnant and offensive to basic human decency. The president would have to try pretty hard for his next scandal to look worse than this.

These videos, more of which are pending, are the result of a three-year-long investigation. What this by itself indicates is that Planned Parenthood’s trafficking in dead baby parts has been going on for a long time. Hearing their employees and leadership speak of this in these videos as though they weren’t a big thing is pretty chilling. What’s obviously evil to the rest of us can be just another day in the office to someone who has long since reasoned away what they’ve been doing.

Planned Parenthood has since gone on damage control, saying that the videos in question have been heavily edited. Which might not sound like a defense against the accusation or a refutation of the evidence clearly shown in the videos, because it’s neither. It’s quite a lame defense for such a serious crime. It’s like if hundreds of photographs of the concentration camp at Auschwitz were being circulated in newspapers during WWII, and Goebbels answered this by saying that some of the pictures were taken at a Dutch angle. Also, “FULL FOOTAGE” videos of the investigation were, in fact, posted to YouTube on the very same channel, making the “heavily edited” defense entirely useless.

As hard as it may be to believe, the full footage videos may actually be more incriminating than the shorter ones that get to the point. For example, in this video, at about 4:27:50, a conversation starts between the investigator and a Planned Parenthood employee regarding another client. The client wanted a variety of baby parts to help them to make humanized mice.

Yes, humanized mice.

Planned Parenthood is knowingly in cahoots with a bunch of mad scientists who want to make humanized mice. It sounds like a cross between a bad sci-fi movie and a right-wing worst case scenario lecture. But it happened.

And yes, it’s highly illegal.

There’s no defending Planned Parenthood anymore. If someone would try to defend them, they’re either an obvious troll who is trying to get a reaction, or so far to the left that they fall off the side of the plane, or something else that’s probably a little difficult to explain. Maybe some kind of ideologue that Democrats would be happy to have voting for them.

So, what’s it going to be, America? Still going to wait for matters to get worse? It can get worse. We’re arriving at the point where those who do evil can do so without fear because they know that most of us don’t have the nerve to do anything about it. A lot of what we’ve seen lately has been pretty horrible, but that’s just the stuff we know about. There’s bound to be far more.

My opinion of cheating in Pokemon

In Pokemon, cheating is huge. And it’s a very sensitive topic. On one side, you see people saying that it devalues the game, and on the other, you see people making excuses for it because that’s what they do. Being someone who plays Pokemon, I have an opinion of cheating, and it’s not really favorable.

If you hack your games but don’t connect to online competitions or trade online, then this might not apply to you, because what you’re doing doesn’t really have an impact on online competitions or what people get in trades. If you’re ruining the game for anyone, it would only be yourself, but you probably have your own reasons for doing what you do. It’s not like you’re trying to trick anyone into thinking you’re putting a lot of effort forward or using illegitimate means to gain a competitive advantage. Competitive cheaters, on the other hand, are different.

Most people don’t need an explanation of just how obvious it is that when a competitive environment is governed by rules and regulations, when participants circumvent or attempt to defeat those rules in an attempt to gain a competitive advantage for themselves, that’s unfair for those of us who played by the rules. Such cheating isn’t just defiant to the established rules of the competition, it disrespects the efforts of those who play by the rules.

Therefore, when a Pokemon video game competition forbids pokemon or save files that have been obtained or modified with an external device or outside normal gameplay, to enter such pokemon or games with such save files into competitions would be considered cheating. Obvious.

So obvious, in fact, that it can be quite surprising how far cheaters go to insist that they’re not cheating.

Of course, they don’t want to be called cheaters. That’s a very unpleasant-sounding word. It implies what they pretty-much do. So you’ll see some of them try pretty hard to explain why they think that what they’re doing isn’t cheating. Similarly, people who lie don’t like being called liars, even though that’s what they’re going. If they’re outed, they lose the advantage that they’d gain from their cover-up.

In some cases, you might hear something like: “It’s not like I’m giving myself something unobtainable. I’m just saving myself a little time.” Is that so? So then, if you make yourself the finest set of competitive battling pokemon that you could raise Xerox, buy a plane ticket and travel to some place like Vancouver so you can participate in Worlds, then get banned from the competition and are turned away, how much time did you actually save? You could have instead bred and raised a team of six competitively-viable pokemon from eggs in just a few hours each to save yourself from being humiliated in front of a bunch of other Pokemon players that don’t even want to look at a cheater.

Yes, obtaining competitively-viable pokemon is easier in the sixth gen games than it ever has been. It only took me a few hours to hatch a 5IV (except SpA) Torchic with Speed Boost and an Adamant nature. Even if it only takes a few hours, hatching a competitively viable pokemon from an egg is a rewarding experience. In sixth gen, it’s so easy to get wild pokemon with high IVs thanks to things such as Friend Safari in XY or Dexnav in ORAS, and use items like Destiny Knot and Everstone so natures and stats are passed on with breeding. Then there’s the fact that pokemon generated in the sixth gen that are in the Undiscovered egg group have a guaranteed 31 in at least three of it’s IVs, which includes legendary pokemon. If someone still cheats up pokemon for themselves just to have some that are competitively viable, just how lazy are they?

Some cheaters complain that if they have to play fair, then they’d be at a disadvantage compared to players that put more time into the game. That actually sounds like an opportunity to learn a life lesson. If someone puts more time into something, then they’re more likely to be better at it. Professional athletes spend hours most days of the week conditioning themselves so they’d perform well when it comes time to play. A student who studies for an hour every school day is more likely to do better in exams. If you think it would be fun to raise pokemon, you’d spend time doing it. If Pokemon is your favorite game, then why not play it?

Cheating has become so widespread, that some players have felt justified in doing so because there are so many other players that do it. That’s some faulty reasoning. If a player is one of the thousands that might be turned away from a single event for bringing a cheated pokemon, they’ve still been turned away. Some that cheat might be getting away with it because they are using a hacked pokemon that can pass the checks. But that doesn’t make that pokemon legit, it means that the player discovered a way to get around the system.

It might seem like I’m explaining why cheating is wrong to a bunch of kids. I remember seeing numbers representing disqualifications for a single competition by division, and the highest number of disqualifications was for the Masters division, which represents the oldest Pokemon players, with over a thousand disqualifications. It might be that the numbers were skewed more towards the Masters division because there may have been more participants in that division. However, that’s a huge number of grown-ups turned away for cheating that should have known better. Considering that Pokemon has what is easily the biggest eugenics simulator that gaming has to offer, one would think that grown-ups would be more interested in learning the rules so that they don’t come off as unfit.

I posted a couple days ago that stricter hack checks are going to be implemented for Rating Battles and Battle Competitions. It wouldn’t be surprising if the same checks would be in place for Worlds this year. Depending on how strict these checks are, there might be quite a bit of drama from players that are sent home because they were found to have something ineligible in their party.

But what?

I’ve been noticing a trend where people append their sentences with “but…”, and that’s how they end their sentence. An example of this phenomenon is as follows:

“I intended to park closer to the store, but…”

When expressed in writing, the substance of the sentence ends with a comma, then the word “but” is appended, followed by an ellipsis.

When a person ends their sentence with “but”, they often look to one side, with their head leaning slightly, as though to leave the remainder of their statement to be inferred solely though their tone. Rather the finish the sentence, the speaker trails off and shifts the burden of interpreting the incomplete thought to the listeners, because the speaker cannot be bothered to properly express the thought that might not have been properly formulated in their mind to begin with. As they do so, they often smugly roll their eyes and stress the word “but” as though using such a lazy template of communication were something that they could take pride in, not respecting you enough to communicate with you as though you were their intellectual equal.

The word “but” has nearly the same meaning as “however”, and is often followed by more information that adds to or may even modify the previous statement. It may also indicate exceptions or perhaps even make contradictions to the preceding proposition. Furthermore, ellipses (…) indicates omissions; statements intentionally left incomplete.

Considering this, when a person ends a sentence with “but…”, they could be leaving out just about anything. Even important information could be omitted. So the example sentence above:

“I intended to park closer to the store, but…”

…Could have omitted the following:

  • “…I was attacked by killer ants from outer space.”
  • “…my car gave out in the middle of the parking lot.”
  • “…there are picketers outside that hate the fact that this company makes money.”
  • “…I was a little concerned with the militant, pedophile rapists that are throwing rocks at our windows.”

Why omit something that, if known, would have likely influenced decisions made by the hearers?

If you’re sick of this kind of corner-cutting in communication, there’s something you can do about it. When someone ends a sentence with “but…”, ask them “…but what?” Have them finish their own sentence. In so doing, you’ll be directing the burden back onto them of formulating their own thoughts in their own minds, where it belongs, and making them properly express that thought in the form of a complete sentence.

It might be that, after several times, they’ll get the point and stop being lazy with their communication. Or they’ll just take their lackadaisical sentence structure to someone who doesn’t mind that they’re not finishing their own sentences. In either case, you win.

If someone were to be just as lazy with other areas of their life, how would it work out for them? Imagine how they might sound confessing to it:

  • “I tied one shoe, but I didn’t tie the other one. Oops. Oh well, I’ll just leave it like that.” *
  • “I know you wanted a turkey sandwich, but I found this ‘Tofurky’ instead. Close enough, right?”
  • “I started the laundry, but then just left the wet shirts in the washer for days. Now they have mildew on them. My bad!”
  • “Yeah, the steak is underdone, but what do you expect when I only cook it in half the time! Aren’t I cute?”
  • “Yeah, I want kids, but I’m still making you pull out before you’re done.”

Like that last point, leaving sentences incomplete by ending them with “but…” is like making someone pull out before they’re done; you’re obviously not concerned with the other party’s satisfaction at all.

* Wow, that sounds stupid. It wouldn’t be surprising if that became a fad in middle schools and high schools.

Does Nintendo have a plan for curbing developer laziness?

oldnintendoseal

Lately, there has been a lot of speculation about Nintendo’s NX console. This reminds me of the speculation that surrounded one of their previous projects, code-named Revolution, which turned out to be the Wii.

In both instances, Nintendo was having a weak console generation, and there has been speculation as to what kind of innovation they’d come up with next. In Wii’s case, the system didn’t disappoint, except in several notable areas:

  • The processor on the thing didn’t come close to the kind seen in Xbox 360 or PS3, though that didn’t prevent games like Metroid Prime 3 from running well on it,
  • Some people didn’t like the name Wii, and
  • Game developers largely treated the system as a dumping ground for miscellaneous shovelware and shallow, gimmicky experiences.

Recently, SquareEnix suggested possible support for the NX, which might even manifest in the form of a couple entries in the Dragon Quest series. There would be very little to worry about when it comes to SquareEnix. However, not every video game company out there is as committed to producing quality products.

In fact, the epidemic of low-quality shovelware is something that’s pretty widespread across various platforms, PC included. There have been botched releases that should have been relatively straight forward, such as a recent port of a Batman game to PC, or various broken games that game developers aren’t fixing because they already have gamers’ money.

There was a similar situation in the ’80s, just prior to the gaming crash of that time. Game makers were rushing low-quality, licensed products to consumers eager to buy them. One of the most famous of these was E.T. the Extra Terrestrial, famous for having so many unsold copies, that they were buried in huge quantities in a landfill in Arizona. Why were so many licensed games winding up in landfills? Because gamers were becoming jaded with the steady stream of over-hyped, low-quality products.

This is why, in the ’80s and early ’90s, the Nintendo Seal of Quality was such a big deal. That seal was Nintendo’s way of saying “We’ve reviewed this product and determined that it is a functional and enjoyable product that’s worth your money.” In some cases, one might wonder how a game managed to get Nintendo’s Seal of Quality. However, by encouraging game makers to strive to attain this seal on their products, Nintendo encouraged a level of quality in games that, otherwise, gamers had little guarantee of. There were no review sites such as MetaCritic or even GameFAQs back in the ’80s. That assurance of quality meant something to gamers.

Nintendo’s NX console is coming up, and there are probably many shovelware developers out there eagerly waiting to pile on their underwhelming digital refuse. Perhaps something like the Nintendo Seal of Quality would be an effective measure to protect gamers from wasting their hard-earned money on games that hardly work.

For such a thing to be effective, Nintendo would have to be discerning concerning what games are made for their system. They would have to be more stern than just being glad that some third party developer is making games for their system. They’d have to have what it takes to say “No, this product isn’t finished yet. Continue to work on it, and maybe we’ll review it again.” If Nintendo themselves were to once again take a stand to encourage quality in games, gamers would regain respect for Nintendo in a hurry. Because gamers do see that there are a few things wrong in the gaming industry.

Does the gaming industry have issues? Yeah, there are a few:

  • Rushing products to market for the gamers eager to buy it, ready or not,
  • Abusing DLC, in some cases charging money for content already on the game disk,
  • Games that can only be played online,
  • Not repairing buggy and broken games, even with simple updates.

There are more. It seems like some game makers are pushing the limits of what they can get away with. But if they keep it up, gamers might end up becoming much more cynical about something that should be about having fun. Yeah, fun. Did we forget that that’s what playing video games is about?

Would Nintendo stand up for gamers by encouraging quality games from game developers? It wouldn’t be the first time that they did. But it’s certain that they continue to encourage sales of their own game systems by making quality games, themselves. That makes it very easy to be a Nintendo fan. That alone might be the strongest case for buying an NX. Whether third parties put much effort forward on NX games remains to be seen.

There’s a reason why Nintendo has as much respect as they do. They put a lot of effort forward. Satisfied customers tend to become return customers. If another gaming crash occurs, Nintendo would be very likely to survive it, because many gamers trust them.

Is Dusclops terrible? I don’t think so.

250px-356Dusclops

Have you had a pokemon where what you’ve heard about it is much different from your own personal experience? I have. Dusclops is a pokemon that I’ve played competitively and had so much fun as other players struggled against it.

If you were to go to a community like Smogon, you’d probably hear something like “Don’t use Dusclops. It’s terrible.” But here’s the thing: not only is Dusclops not terrible, it rocks pretty hard. Here is a set that I’ve used:

Snickers
Dusclops
Sassy nature
Ability: Pressure
Item: Eviolite
– Will-O-Wisp
– Night Shade
– Pain Split
– Protect
252 HP / 4 Def / 252 SpDef

0005_SNICKERS_Bar

Not going anywhere for a while? It might because Dusclops is walling you so well. Dusclops’ already high defensive stats are brought even higher by the presence of Eviolite, which makes it soak up moves it’s not weak to as though they weren’t a big deal. Most walls are either physically or specially oriented, but Dusclops’ physical and special defense are both really high. A Sassy nature is chosen because once burned by Will-O-Wisp, physical attackers wouldn’t be doing much damage. Night shade is there so Dusclops has something to do when Taunted, and in between racking up passive burn damage with Protect. It’s a little disappointing that Pain Split is it’s only form of recovery, but it still works pretty well against opponents that think they’re nearing a KO.

Now, there are a few concerns that players express when it comes to Dusclops:

“But Dusclops is Knock Off bait.”
Yes, Dusclops is Knock Off bait. That doesn’t mean that Dusclops is unusable. In fact, that could work well in luring in threats with Knock Off. Dusclops even has Protect to scout.

Oh, I just brought Dusclops in, and the other player is bringing in something like Weavile. I’ll just bring in a Pokemon holding a Mega Stone.
Oh, the opponent used Knock Off. How predictable. Now I know which of their pokemon has Knock Off.
So, the opponent’s surprise is lost, and they’re probably going to want to get their Knock Off pokemon out of there, unless they want it clobbered by my mega.

Strategy.

“But Dusclops doesn’t have reliable recovery.”
Dusclops’ Pain Split isn’t very good, but Dusclops benefits very well from a Wish used by Sylveon. Dusclops can even switch in easily to benefit from Wish, as long as the player doesn’t allow it’s HP to get so low, that it’s hard to switch it in. It takes foresight on the part of the player to get that to work out. Again, strategy.

“But Dusclops doesn’t work well when statused, especially with Toxic.”
Something like Toxic can make stalling backfire, but the same goes for just about any pokemon that walls. Remember how I mentioned Sylveon? It also has access to Heal Bell. Or you can have Chansey use Aromatherapy. This is the kind of team support that’s often used in competitive play, so status conditions aren’t usually much of a problem as long as the team’s healer can get out there and do it’s job, which is pretty easy to do.

“But Dusclops is slow.”
And? There isn’t much expectation that pokemon that wall go first in a turn. Unless Trick Room is up, the opponent is likely going to attack first. I know that a lot of players out there like their walls to be something that they just send out and then they shut their brains off as they watch their pokemon soak up attacks, but sometimes a person might want to use a little strategic thinking to determine that it might be a good time to get Dusclops out of there so it can later safely come in on Wish support. It might seem like Dusclops needs a lot of help from Sylveon, but Dusclops worked great for me before adding Sylveon to my team.

“But Dusclops is shut down when Taunted.”
That’s true, but here’s the thing: Dusclops can be switched out to get around it. Dusclops doesn’t need to set up to do what it does, so it’s not hurt much by the minor inconvenience of switching out of an unfavorable situation to let a teammate take over. Much of competitive pokemon does involve prediction and strategic switching. I know it sounds like I’m using the word “strategy” a lot, but that’s something that makes certain pokemon very effective.

Dusclops is the kind of pokemon that Mega Mewtwo Y wants to get a critical hit on. If Dusclops doesn’t seem to be working on your team, that might not be Dusclops’ fault. Dusclops might not be invincible, but a pokemon doesn’t need to be high on Smogon’s viability charts to be usable. Perhaps the reason so many players are having a problem with this thing is that they aren’t very well prepared for it. Or maybe they’re seriously underestimating it.

13 Hours: Michael Bay makes movie about Benghazi attack

I share the surprise of the person in the following video: Hollywood is making a movie that I’m interested in.

I’ve already voiced my opinion on the matter of the Benghazi attack in Libya. While the media largely avoids conversation about this, keeping people in the dark, what makes this matter so interesting is that it reveals so much about Hillary Clinton, Barack Obama, and the liberal life culture in general.

To spell it out: American citizens have been thrown under the bus. It happened once when an attack occurred in Benghazi that the Obama administration had received a tip-off about over a week before it occurred, and it happened once again when they falsely blamed an American citizen exercising his protected free speech, having him sent to prison for a crime that he did not commit.

While the movie looks like it will be very interesting, it’s kind of sad to think that what it may take to get Americans to take notice of a matter that is in some way relevant to every one of them is a movie that brings the matter into their entertainment. But if that’s what it takes, then what it takes is coming to theaters. Of course, a person doesn’t have to wait for the movie to come to theaters to understand what’s going on. If you’re reading this on a device connected to the internet, it’s easy to learn a few things about the Obama administration that they don’t want you to find out.

What’s more, what you stand to learn is one of the reasons why America should not want Hillary Clinton to become president of the United States. Another reason is her use of a personal email account to conduct state business instead of a state-issued email account. If you don’t understand what’s wrong with that, you’re probably already sharing a lot of personal things about yourself using the internet.

One would have to be pretty naive to think that, once president of the United States, Hillary’s willingness to destroy the lives of American citizens to further her own political agenda will change. At this point, it’s already established behavior, and the act of voting her into office would be in effect rewarding her for it.

If you wanted to learn about it from a movie, then that movie is coming.